Thirsty For Books Review: City of Fallen Angels

Title: City of Fallen Angels: The Mortal Instruments
Author: Cassandra Clare
Finished: December 6th
Purchased: Kindle Fire
★★★★

Simon, Daylighter vampire teen is protected by the Mark of Cain, a pillar of fire from Heaven blazes attackers into salt, but an enemy gets at him through his first love Clary, who must face consequences, and maybe lose Jace. A Greater Demon infects nights of her Shadowhunter beloved for control, and sends grey-garbed minions for Simon himself.

I have a hard time understanding why there is so much uproar about the mortal instruments series continuing. I was personally overjoyed to find out that a series I adored was not quite at it’s end. I loved the three books, and don’t get me wrong if it had ended at book three, I would have been content. However the fact that isn’t over is a readers dream come true, I think we can agree that it is one of the worst feelings when a good series ends and you can no longer read about your favorite characters. As for this book, I thought it was amazing. As always, it was well written and engaging. I believe it was the perfect way to continue the series. Jace and Clary both defeated who they thought was there father and evil brother/ step-brother however one of them is not completely gone yet. The pair must not only deal with demons, as every shadow hunter must, but also the growing distance Jace is putting between them. Not only is there trouble in paradise, but her best friend Simon is dealing with the Mark of Cain, and the wrath it bring along with it to him and his friends. If you loved the first three books and were sad it ended, this book is worth the reading. I read this series, The Mortal Instruments, during finals week (I know I’m a bad student) at night right before I went to bed. I finished the entire series in that week. Cassandra Clare captures your attention and leaves you wondering. After finishing the third book I was skeptical about diving into the fourth, there were many bad comments claiming that she should have ended it at the third. I finally convinced myself that my own opinion of the fourth book was more important than listening to what the others said and I picked it up…and never put it down.

Did you guys like the City of Fallen Angels or did this make you want to read it? Or my real burning question, what made you hate this book, if you did? Let me know 🙂

xox Cat
Leave a Reply

