Friday Finds: Runes

Title: Runes (book 1)
Author: Ednah Walters
Finished: December 17th
Purchased: Kindle Fire
★★★★

Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.
Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.
Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life


I have to admit, I have been eyeballing this book since its release in June but for some reason I always found a reason to pass it by and chose a different book instead. I would scroll by it on the list of recommendations on my kindle, but one day, December 16, I decided enough was enough, I was going to read it.

I read many wonderful reviews the book had I was still skeptical and nervous that it would be just another cookie cutter book (don’t get me wrong I love those types of books too) sometimes you want a little something different. You know the books where the characters fall in love too fast and everything is super predicatble. Runes was exactly the something different I was yearning for. If you’re in the market for something different this book is the one for you. It encompasses so many aspects of a fantasy book that people have come to love as well as strong female lead and a flair of its own. Runes is in it’s own dimension in terms of books and how different it is.

I must admit, I loved the fact that this book was unpredictable. Raine meets her new neighbor who is also going to be attending her school. She can sense that something is different about him. Torin St. James is the typical bad boy that Raine seems to love and hate, with the hate usually outweighing all else. Once Torin heals her, some freaky things happen and Raine makes it her mission to find out what Torin is exactly. This is the point of my only complaint. The book, while amazingly unpredictable, moves fairly slowly. Not to say that it was a tough book to read through, I read it in barely a day, however the information that you long for to understand the motivation behind actions in the books takes forever to get through. At my 57% update on goodreads, my comment was “Still waiting to find out what they are specifically besides immortal.” I was getting fairly frustrated at this point, the information that you long for while reading comes shortly after this point.

As slow as the plot moves, Runes is an wonderful book with a unique story, that once you get fully into, you won’t be able to stop reading.
xox Cat

Leave a Reply

