Afternoon Delight Review: Endless

Goodreads
Title: Endless
Author:  Amanda Gray
Finished: December 28th
Purchased: NetGalley
★★★

Jenny Kramer knows she isn’t normal. After all, not everybody can see the past lives of people around them.
When she befriends Ben Daulton, resident new boy, the pair stumble on an old music box with instructions for “mesmerization” and discover they may have more in common than they thought. Like a past life.
Using the instructions in the music box, Ben and Jenny share a dream that transports them to Romanov Russia and leads them to believe they have been there together before. But they weren’t alone. Nikolai, the mysterious young man Jenny has been seeing in her own dreams was there, too. When Nikolai appears next door, Jenny is forced to acknowledge that he has traveled through time and space to find her. Doing so means he has defied the laws of time, and the Order, an ominous organization tasked with keeping people in the correct time, is determined to send him back. While Ben, Jenny and Nikolai race against the clock – and the Order – Jenny and Nikolai discover a link that joins them in life – and beyond death.


I overall really enjoyed this book. It was a book that you kept reading because you couldn’t go to sleep without knowing what was going to happen next. I was however slightly disappointed in the romance department. I understand that Nikolai and Jenny had a past, literally, but their romance with each other just felt too… quick. I wanted more of a fight on Jenny’s part, I wanted some resistance, not utter acceptance. Sure, she remembered their past and trusted him, but come on. Just because someone says you were together in a past life does not mean you should trust that it’s true, it’s called playing hard to get. 

I felt as if there were some holes in the plot, but it was overall an engaging, interesting, unique story line. I really enjoyed the characters. While maybe the romance wasn’t up to my standards, there were great friendships that developed, which I enjoyed just enough to over look the lack of romance. I can appreciate that the story maybe wasn’t all about the love they have, but the journey that Nikolai had to endure to get to her once again. 

Another thing I felt that should have been elaborate more in depth was Jenny’s abilities. I know what they did because before reading, I had read the summary. But the story, I felt, did not explain them in enough detail. What use are they to her besides a way to gain new ideas for her art work? I thought that was something that Morgan should have told her. But I did enjoy the hint that she may be more powerful than she even knows.
I was really shocked at how much I loved the character Ben. I think I could have liked him even more than Jenny. His story was just so.. intriguing. I loved that he had to end up facing his past, in the future. The concept was just so out of the box to me, I hope that if there is a sequel of some sorts, he has a bigger part of the story. 
Overall, I enjoyed this story, much more than anticipated. It was a well thought out and different story line than many other stories that I have read. It was not one that I loved, but I did enjoy it and I would love to read whatever else comes to follow this story. 

xox Cat

P.S. I am in love with the cover!

Leave a Reply

