Thirsty For Books Review: Delirium


Title: Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver
Finished: December 28th (same day as purchase!!)
Purchased: Paperback at Barns&Noble
★!


Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.


wow. I am kind of speechless… and by kind of I mean that I am so and totally engrossed in the story Lauren Oliver paints that I don’t even know how to describe it, but I will try for all of you! Let’s start off by saying that yes, I admit when I am reading I am in a trance like state, where nothing else around me matter. But there are very few times when a book sucks me out of my world (the real world unfortunately) and drops me in a completely different universe. 
In this universe, love is the disease. People don’t want to be in love, or Amor Deliria Nervosa. Delirium is a futuristic dystopian novel where love is forbidden. It is not only forbidden but feared. It is thought to be the cause of everything that went astray in the past such as conflict and war. It is such a… funny concept. Love. I enjoyed how Lauren Oliver took the concept of love and turned it into something that we don’t see. As a society I believe that the sometimes negative effects of love are overlooked. Now, the take on love in Delirium is extreme, maybe our positive views of love are also extreme. 
I thought that the entire story was just perfect. I loved the forbidden love aspect. While the “secrets” that the reader doesn’t find out until the end aren’t even foreshadowed in the book, they are easily predicted which is slightly disappointed since I do love a good plot twist. My only complaint is that Lena isn’t the type of character I usually “fall-for” in a sense. I love headstrong female leads and while she is a female and brave, she isn’t the take-charge type. Maybe this is why I fell in love with her friend Hana, right up until the end when I felt the roles switch a little. I have high expectations for the next book in the series which I hope to read soon!
Overall, it’s hard not to like this book. It’s hard for me to find anything that I don’t like about it. I have contracted  Amor Deliria Nervosa for the Delirium series as well as the author Lauren Oliver! This book is a must read. 
xox Cat
Leave a Reply

