Morning Cup of Coffee Review: Knowing Jack

Goodreads
Title: Knowing Jack
Author: Rachel Curtis 
Finished: December 2
Purchased: Provied via NetGalley for an honest review
Release Date: January17th  
I am not a slut, although I’ve been called one often enough. Yeah, I spent three months screwing one of my college professors, but I was crazy about the guy. Then he broke up with me.
I am not a bitch, although people like to say I am. I kept our relationship secret. I’m not responsible for telling the university administrators about it, but a lot of students still blame me for getting their favorite professor fired.
I am not a drama queen, although everyone thinks I am now. When I got a few nasty messages, I just deleted them. When I got the threat, I assumed it was someone being stupid. I still think that’s all it was. My parents worry, though, so they hired me a bodyguard. Now Jack follows me around, intimidating everyone who approaches me and looking obnoxiously hot.
This is what I am. I’m Chloe. I’m a twenty-year-old art history major. Kind of shy, although I pretend not to be. Stubborn enough to stay here for my senior year, even though everyone hates me.
And I’m stuck with Jack. He calls me “Princess,” but I’m not a princess either.
The cover is really what drew me to this book. It’s crazy because it is such a simple, ordinary cover. But there is something about the girl’s sassy face that I loved along with the pop of unexpected color the title adds.I found this to be a cute, relate able book, but that’s all. It was typical, usual, but different. There was the underlying falling in love with someone you can never have but just kidding you can have them, cliche but done differently because be real, how many books about a body guard have you read lately.
I think the synopsis fools you as a reader. I was not expected the character that I got after reading it. Chloe is made to seem that she is a spoiled, rich princess when in reality she is much more. The spoiled rich little girl doesn’t let that affect her or get in the way of her life. It was a really unexpected in a good way. 
Although the character was a pleasant surprise, I felt that the plot fell short good. It felt rushed. I think the book could have been made longer and gone more in detail. The relationship is especially where I felt the rush, I thought it was just barely built up and bam. Relationship. 
I thought it was stupid that the entire school was mad that a professor got fired. That just doesn’t seem realistic. At my school no one would even care, no matter how much they liked the professor mostly due to the fact that a relationship is a two way street, it’s just as much his fault. 
I think one of the components that keeps a book interesting is mystery and the inability to predict the ending. This is where Knowing Jack was the weakest in my opinion. I predicted the entire book from the first twenty pages and only read further to confirm that I was right. 
This book was a cute, quick read and that’s it. There are no hidden surprises, it is a straight forward read that doesn’t involve too much thinking. I recommend reading this book on the beach or something, where it will keep you entertained, but its not too heavy.
xox Cat
Leave a Reply

