Afternoon Delight: Pandemonium

Goodreads
Title: Pandemonium
Author: Lauren Oliver
Finished:  January 1st
Purchased: Kindle Fire
★!!!!!
I’m pushing aside 
the memory of my nightmare, 
pushing aside thoughts of Alex, pushing aside thoughts of Hana 
and my old school, 
push, 
push, 
push, 
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

ASJKFGDL. I am unsure if I can even produce words right now. As I am writing this, I have literally finished Pandemonium three seconds ago. I couldn’t even wait to get this written down. First of all, if you couldn’t tell. I. Loved. This. Book. I am speechless really. Just like in the first book Delirium, Lauren Oliver sucks you into this world where love is a disease.

In this book, gone is the little girl Lena used to be as she becomes a hardened women. Lena must survive the winter on the outside, scavenging for food and surviving the attacks on the invalids. She has lost her love, Alex, the boy who infected her and helped her escape as well as the other people she cared about in her life. Here in the wild she creates a new life with new people to care about while trying to forget the past. 
As you read the book, each chapter is a then or now based chapter. It was a really interesting choice, that was pretty annoying as a reader, but a smart way to write it. I was annoyed only because the present gave away things from the past, like those who lived. However I did like that both plots had suspense and action and they seemed to hit the climax at the same time which was a.. different way of reading a story. It was probably how Lauren kept the story so interesting the whole time and me on my toes. 
The way Lauren Oliver writes, it makes you love and hate the character. Pandemonium  shows what I am to consider as the true colors of the characters she has painted in front of us. The whole story I kept hoping that Julian would just disappear. I like him as a friend, but I did not want there to be a love interest.

Pandemonium left you screaming NO PLEASE…NO. Definitely the best cliff hanger I have ever read. It was actually painful.
I loved this book. L-O-V-E-D this book. I cannot wait until I have enough time to read Requiem.

xox Cat

Leave a Reply

