Friday Find: Matched

Goodreads
Title: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Finished: December 29th
Purchased: Barnes&Noble Paperback
★★★★

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.
The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow
.

What is better than a paper back book, am I right? I just had to have this book when I was in Barnes&Noble, the online book cover does not even begin to do it justice. I have seen many negative comments about the cover, I feel as if it fit the story perfectly. The girl on the cover is Cassia and the simplicity of it represents the society as a whole. The society is simple and boring, but it fueled an amazing story.
I really did love this book. It’s not the best dystopian out there, but I still really enjoyed reading it. I felt for Cassia and her situation and I also felt emotions for the two boys she was matched with, Xander and Ky. While yes, this was a love triangle story, I felt as though it was done right. It wasn’t a love triangle where you know who she is going to want to be with right away. It kept me on my toes because Cassia expressed interest in both boys, but eventually makes a decision that she does not seem too sure about. I am very interested in reading the other books in the trilogy to find out what happens!
I have a few complaints, very minor I think, but they still stood out. The whole “job” of sorting that Cassia has is just plain confusing. I mean. I don’t get it. It was not explained well enough. It also didn’t make sense. Just because she can quickly sort numbers words and colors doesn’t mean that in real life she can sort people and their abilities efficiently. I felt that this part needed to be explained more. The only other problem I encountered was the pill packet every member of society carried around. I have seen people reference other books that have done it, and while I have not specifically read the ones mentioned, the idea seems familiar to me. I even questioned if I’d read the book already because of them. It was just unoriginal and pretty unnecessary, it’s been done before. I personally don’t mind when books are similar in plot aspects, but when a unique detail such as the pill packet is copied, it bothers me.

xox Cat

Leave a Reply

