Thirsty for Books Review: The Longest Ride

Goodreads


Title: The Longest Ride
Author:  Nicholas Sparks
Finished:  December 26th
★★
Ira Levinson is in trouble. At ninety-one years old, in poor health and alone in the world, he finds himself stranded on an isolated embankment after a car crash. Suffering multiple injuries, he struggles to retain consciousness until a blurry image materializes and comes into focus beside him: his beloved wife Ruth, who passed away nine years ago.

A few miles away, at a local rodeo, a Wake Forest College senior’s life is about to change. Recovering from a recent break-up, Sophia Danko meets a young cowboy named Luke, who bears little resemblance to the privileged frat boys she has encountered at school. Through Luke, Sophia is introduced to a world in which the stakes of survival and success, ruin and reward — even life and death – loom large in everyday life. As she and Luke fall in love, Sophia finds herself imagining a future far removed from her plans — a future that Luke has the power to rewrite . . . if the secret he’s keeping doesn’t destroy it first.
Ira and Ruth. Sophia and Luke. Two couples who have little in common, and who are separated by years and experience. Yet their lives will converge with unexpected poignancy, reminding us all that even the most difficult decisions can yield extraordinary journeys: beyond despair, beyond death, to the farthest reaches of the human heart.

Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks. Like, a drop dead off my rocker fan. I have his entire collection of books in hard cover, I even have a shelf of my bookshelf dedicated to him. Now, I know you’re probably wondering why this book has only three stars. I can understand why someone would love this book, it has all the aspects a fairy tale romance should. But something was missing for me. It was almost as if the love, in both of the couples, was just to.. easy. I can understand they had many obstacles to overcome, however they didn’t give a wow factor. They didn’t make me feel. To me, the story lacked any real feeling. It was cute, but cute can only get you so far in life.

I thought that The Longest Ride was a well development story, and I honestly didn’t see the ending coming at all. Or how the couples were related. But I felt that it lacked the needed features and context in order for me to fall in love with the characters, they just kind of blended in to me. I usually feel so much reading Spark’s novels, but in this one I didn’t even cry, a true determination that it was just not good enough. 
I was kind of upset that it lacked the usual “kill a character the audience likes” I feel like it is his signature. Nicholas Sparks please sign on the dotted line “I killed your favorite character HAHA.”  This book almost felt too good to be true, too nice and too generous to make it a book I would enjoy reading. 
I never thought I would say a book is too sweet. But honestly, I would not recommend this book.
xox Cat
One thought on “Thirsty for Books Review: The Longest Ride

Leave a Reply

