Friday Review: Requiem

Title:  Requiem
Author:  Lauren Oliver
Finished: January 3d
Purchased: Kindle Fire

hey have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the pastBut we are still here.
And there are more of us every day.
Goodreads
Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.
After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.
Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.
Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.
But we have chosen a different road.
And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.
We are even free to choose the wrong thing.
Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

The beginning of the book moves painstakingly slow. Let me just start with a little rant here for a second. The fact that this story alternated between Hana and Lena’s point of view/ story drove me absolutely crazy. The majority of things happening to Hana I didn’t even care about. People lose friends in stories and in real life all the time. Hana just annoyed the living everything out of me. I wanted to skip over Hana just to get to the juicy stuff with this dumb Lena girl and her complete lack of decency with the boys that she likes. 
While we are on the subject of people I hate, I have to mention Julian. I don’t like him and I never will end of story. Team Alex for life. At the end of Pandemonium I was personally ready to murder Lena because of what she feels for Julian. Throughout reading I just felt so… awful. Poor Alex sacrifices his life to save stupid Lena, endures the crypts and finally escapes only to find her in the arms of another person. Yeah, I’d crawl myself into a hole. 
Lena was also a little baby in this book. This character is one of the most aggravating characters I have ever read. I started to like her in Pandemonium but she just flopped for me in this book. She needed to get her head out of her *cough, cough* and decide who she really loves and wants to be with because all us readers know the truth. She was acting like a child pretending to hate Alex, thinking that he was dead with no proof.. come on. Let’s be smart for a second. 
I thought that last half of the book was amazingly written, and I even got over my hate for Hana just a little. The beginning moved to slowly, the middle was perfect and the ending was horrid. It’s not a cliff hanger, because we will never find out what happens, but it also didn’t explain or give the reader the details that they want, neeeeeed. It was one of the dumbest endings I have ever read. The ending could have saved the entire book, sure I gave it three stars, but the ending honestly deducted a whole star. It’s like she just got lazy and didn’t want to finish the book. 
Obviously I liked it enough to give it three stars, but it was still my least favorite book of the whole series. I wish it ended differently and I wish that the beginning was as interesting as the middle/end. Honestly, if you have read the other two, you are better off writing your own ending for the series because this will only be a disappointment. 
xox Cat
Leave a Reply

