Afternoon Delight: Life Eternal

Goodreads
Title: Life Eternal
Author: Yvonne Woon
Date Finished: December 3o
Purchased: Kindle Fire
★!
 

Rene Winters has changed. When she looks in the mirror, a beautiful girl with an older, sadder face stares back. Her condition has doctors mystified, but Ren e can never reveal the truth: she died last May, and was brought back to life by the kiss of her Undead soul mate, Dante Berlin.
Now, her separation from Dante becomes almost unbearable. His second life is close to an end, and each passing day means one less that she will spend with the boy who shares her soul.
Just when Ren e has almost given up hope, she learns of the Nine Sisters-brilliant scholars who, according to legend, found a way to cheat death. She can’t shake the feeling that they are somehow connected to her dreams, strange visions that hint at a discovery so powerful, and so dangerous, that some will stop at nothing to protect it.
Ren e thought she knew the truth about life and death. But there is a secret woven through history that holds the only hope for Dante and Ren e. Unless they find answers soon, their time together is doomed to be cut short.


I have to say, I gave it five stars but it deserves like a hundred. I recently read the first in this series, Dead Beautiful and I am not sure which I liked best.  I have a sweet spot for academy/ boarding school books. I’m not sure why, maybe because I didn’t attend a school of that nature until college, so the unknown is interesting to me. I typically find myself not liking books that are sequels as much as the original book, but this one is hard not to enjoy.

I love that in book two, there are still things as a reader, you know you don’t know but can’t wait to find out. Like what really happened to Reene’s parents, you know there is something being hidden from you and the only way to find out is to read more. Something esle hidden from the reader is what her connection is with Dante, you know besides a soulmate

I really enjoyed that in this book, Dante isn’t a huge focus. It becomes a snore fest when the second book is all about the new romance that developed in the first book, so I am happy to report that is not how this book went.

I loved how Yvonne Wood developed Renee as a character. Usually characters just somehow manage to be lucky enough to not get kill, but I felt that Renee is alive because she is smart. She didn’t do too many cringe worthy things, actions that make you want to scream and throw your book because of how dumb they are. She acted as most would assume someone would in the situations presented to her. My only complaint is how much she tells her new friend and Noah. Oh my gosh Noah. I think I am the only one that was silently praying that her soul mate was not Dante and they were mistaken. Or for some explanation that they shared a soul, but not romantically. I don’t know. All I know is I loved Noah. Although, I felt that Renee told him too much sensitive information. In her position, I would not have told anyone anything until I could fully trust them.

I am really not a fan of the whole soul mates bit, mainly because this book shows how well Renee and Dante don’t know each other. And I find him to be a creeper.

Overall, I think anyone who read this book can agree that the ending is the absolute  best part ever. Things that you could only speculate, and most of the time not accurately, throughout the book finally start falling into place. So well, in fact, that I started to question why I hadn’t figured it out.

Life Eternal is a real page turner, only five more days (as of January 2) until the third book, Love Reborn  is released. I am holding my breath!!

xox Cat

Leave a Reply

