Thirsty Thursday Review: Crossed

Goodreads
Title: Crossed
Author: Ally Condie
Finished: January 
Purchased: Kindle Fire
★★★
The Society chooses everything. 
The books you read. 
The music you listen to. 
The person you love. 
Yet for Cassia the rules have changed. Ky has been taken and she will sacrifice everything to find him. 
And when Cassia discovers Ky has escaped to the wild frontiers beyond the Society there is hope.
But on the edge of society nothing is as it seems…
A rebellion is rising.
And a tangled web of lies and double-crosses could destroy everything

I liked this book, I didn’t particularly love it though. To me, Crossed was one of those books you read so you’re able to continue the series, almost like a filler book. It wasn’t horrid though. I just feel like it could have been done in 20 pages.

Let me just start by saying that I adore the love triangle in this book. One round of applause for Ally Condie for truly capturing the essence of what a love triangle should be. Cassia loves Ky and Xander. The boys don’t even hate each other which makes it all the more painful to experience. The love triangle Ally Condie crafted does not have an easy choice, I can’t personally decide who I like better, and obviously neither can Cassia. 
I believe it is time to state what anyone else who has read this book is most likely thinking. Crossed dragged on. It had a surprising lack of action as well as interesting content at all. Like I mentioned in the Matched review, their society is boring, not much goes on. But the characters are all embarked on journeys that take them outside of society and I still felt as if I was nodding off. The short, choppy chapters are probably what I hated the most. One chapter would start to get good, I would snuggle in deeper with anticipation and then BAM. Either the chapter ended or Cassia found a leaf that she decided to write a poem about. Or Ky would begin to explain a memory, that is directly from Matched right when you knew something exciting was going to happen. And then, these moments just died and nothing exciting happened. 
So the whole book, it was reiterated to the read that Xander had a huge secret he was hiding from Cassia. Well, If Cassia’s new friend Indie can figure it out without meeting Xander, come on, how important or secretive could it be? Not to mention that when it is finally revealed, my feeling was yeah, so? I knew that. Not a huge secret. I felt like it could have been built up to so much more and it just fell flat, like the rest of the novel.
I don’t even want to get started on the society because it simply does not make sense. Sure, I can overlook it for the good of the story if it’d actually a good book, but Crossed just pointed out all the flaws. I don’t understand how everyone can be so shocked when someone can write, it’s not as if they have never seen letters before, they can all read!! The stupid war everyone is fighting makes no sense. Societies goal doesn’t begin to make sense. It was all just a jumble of unsorted (pun!) information. 
Crossed simply fell flat. I was mid sprint running out of Matched when Crossed tripped me. I still have enough motivation to continue the series, mostly because the entire book was dedicated to characters and a painful lack of action, I feel attached to them.

xox Cat

Leave a Reply

