We’ve Been Waiting Review: Scintillate

Goodreads

Title: Scintillate 
Author: Tracey Clark
Purchased:  NetGalley
Finished: January 15th
Release Date: February 4th
★!
A mighty flame follows a tiny spark.
Cora Sandoval’s mother disappeared when she was five and they were living in Ireland. Since then, her dad has been more than overprotective, and Cora is beginning to chafe under his confines. But even more troubling is the colorful light she suddenly sees around people. Everyone, that is, except herself—instead, she glows a brilliant, sparkling silver.
As she realizes the danger associated with these strange auras, Cora is inexplicably drawn to Finn, a gorgeous Irish exchange student who makes her feel safe. Their attraction is instant, magnetic, and primal—but her father disapproves, and Finn’s mother orders him home to Ireland upon hearing he’s fallen in love. After a fight with her father, Cora flees to Ireland, both to follow Finn and to look for her missing mother.
There she meets another silver-haloed person and discovers the meaning of her newfound powers and their role in a conspiracy spanning centuries—one that could change mankind forever…and end her life.
Scintillate is the first book in this lush and exciting new trilogy, full of romance, adventure and metaphysical mystery.

Let me start off by addressing my deep love for the title. Scintillate is a gorgeous word and I must admit at first sight, I thought it was made up. But after discovering the definition on Google, emit flashes of light; sparkle. I think I am in love. I want to find a use for it in my everyday vocabulary so badly that it hurts. 

I found the beginning of the book to be quite confusing. The author utilized the comma, in my mind, a bit excessively especially in the descriptive portions of the writing. I am personally a huge fan of commas and tend to use them a little to much, as pointed out to me by others. However, if the queen of commas notices a slight overuse while engrossed in a story, that may be an issue. It was not just the commas, I felt as if many of the sentences that contained commas would have been better suited to use a semicolon. These sentences were choppy sentences that became separated by commas, in many cases they were completely different thoughts that did not seem to logically fit together.

But man, did that book pick up. I found the story thrilling and enticing. It was not what I expected by any means. It wasn’t that I expected the book to be bad, but the beginning is not what some would call a promising story. It’s as if a completely new author wrote the book. It allows you to see the growth of Tracy as an author as well as the characters.

The novel keeps you on the edge of your seat, I was so excited to find out what happens that I read it in two days. I actually found myself looking into the trilogy (yes!! there are more books to come) without even realizing that this book isn’t even released yet. eugh.

I found the plot to be surprisingly authentic, I have not come across any books in my travels that deal specifically with aura reading. It was a pleasant surprise to not know what to expect. There may be a slight love triangle, don’t worry though, even if it does turn out to be one, that isn’t the focus of the book. Scintillate, in all it’s glory, works to emphasize family. Cora may not realize how much her family does for her, but she will.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a cleanse of the pallet, something refreshing and new. And since it comes out tomorrow, I suggest you get ready for this one!

xox Cat

One thought on “We’ve Been Waiting Review: Scintillate

Leave a Reply

