Mini Waiting for: The Tyrants Daughter

17910573Title:  The Tyrants Daughter

Author: J.C. Carlson
Finished: January 27
Purchased:  NetGalley
Release Date: February 11, 2014
★★★
 
When her father is killed in a coup, 15-year-old Laila flees from the war-torn middle east to a life of exile and anonymity in the U.S. Gradually she adjusts to a new school, new friends, and a new culture, but while Laila sees opportunity in her new life, her mother is focused on the past. She’s conspiring with CIA operatives and rebel factions to regain the throne their family lost. Laila can’t bear to stand still as an international crisis takes shape around her, but how can one girl stop a conflict that spans generations?
J.C. Carleson delivers a fascinating account of a girl—and a country—on the brink, and a rare glimpse at the personal side of international politics. 

I found this book to be entertaining and unlike the books I usually read. While there was still mystery, action and friendship, I found that this book was slightly too real for me to love. While I don’t blame an entire nation, it was hard to sympathize with the characters because it was based off of the family who cause 9/11. And when I say based, I know it is a loose connection.

 I enjoyed the book nevertheless and being an avid reader I can appreciate a good story as well as the excellent writing style. I for one just couldn’t enjoy it to the fullest. I know there are probably many people out there who would really like this book, but it just wasn’t for me. I’m sure many of you have come across books that are the ‘not for me’ type, that you want to like and enjoy but it just is not possible.

You know what they say, don’t judge a book by it’s cover and don’t write it off just because someone wasn’t a fan. If this sort of story is what you like, give it a go. Personally, it just hit too close to home for me.

This book comes out tomorrow and if it sounds up your alley you should try it out!

xox Cat

Leave a Reply

