Review: The Academy Introduction



Title: The Academy Introductions
Author: C.L. Stone
Purchased: Free on Amazon Kindle
Date Read: February 18

With an agoraphobic mother and a barely-there father, Sang abhors the isolation keeping her in the shadows. The only thing Sang craves is a fresh start and to be accepted as ordinary by her peers, because for her being different meant being cast out alone.
When her family moves to a new school district, Sang infiltrates a group of boys nearly perfect in every way. Grateful for an influence outside of her parents’ negativity, she quickly bonds with the boys, hoping to blend in and learn from them what it means to have a natural relationship with friends.
Only the boys have secrets of their own and they’ll do anything to keep her safe from the knowledge of the mysterious Academy that they’ve sworn allegiance to. Bit by bit, Sang discovers that her friends are far from the normalcy she expected. Will her loyalty change when she’s forced to remain in the dark, or will she accept that she’s traded one house of secrets for another?
Meet Kota, Victor, Silas, Nathan, Gabriel, Luke and North in a story about differences and loyalty, truth and mystery, friendships and heart-throbbing intimacy.
The Academy, ever vigilant.

I was surprisingly shocked while reading this book. Call me crazy, but free books on amazon don’t always carry the same level of content that a book for a price does. I was shocked in a good way. This tale kept me on my toes the entire time, I actually couldn’t even figure out the plot/secret until it was shoved in my face, something I am not used to.
Let me start out with the characters. These hot guys just kept popping out of the woodwork. This is going to put love triangles to shame, Stone must have thought “look at you and your silly triangle, try out my octagon of love.”  Really though, the ratio of girl boy in this book has me excited. I have never read a book of this sorts, so I am excited to see how it plays out because this book, is after all, an introduction.
It was kind of frustrating to read which is why it has only a three star rating from me. The seven boys met Sang, um, twice, before she was like their little child. They protected her unconditionally and bought her an iPhone? The relationships they had really progressed at a pace too fast to believe, but I understand there is a reason for it. 
A plot that I am really enjoying (but not really, I’m not a sicko) is the fact that Sang’s mother is abusive. So it isn’t a topic you can really enjoy, but it adds so much to this story. It allows for a level of psychoanalysis on Sang’s character as well as her family. For example, she is quick to trust and rely on the boys because she has no one else in her life willing to do that for her. 
Overall, I am pleased with this book, and intrigued enough to be excited to purchase and read the other books in this series. 
P.S. I am team Silas
xox Cat
Leave a Reply

