What I’m Excited For: The Selection

Title: The Selection
Author: Kierra Cass
Purchased: Amazon Kindle Fire
Date Read: February 26
★!!!


For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.


Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


I am finally getting around to reading the book in my to-read pile since my semester is slowing down and I am getting used to the work and read load of an English major. Man did I pick a good first book to start with. The Selection series has been on my list for some time and I was a little iffy about it. I feel like I say that about every book… But I am a huge fan of dystopian novels and series, and I find that the societies are super similar in many of these books.

The Selection has a really unique society. People are not ‘controlled’ in this society and things are not planned out and selected for them which was surprisingly refreshing. It took a whole different spin on dystopian because the people within it were free really. I almost had the feeling that it wasn’t dystopian but realistic. Everyone is divided into specific, defined classes. The only difference from today is in the book there is an actual number to each class, other than that it isn’t so far off.

So I started off hating Aspen. I get it, they are in love and were trying to overcome societies view on their social class, but it was just so… unrealistic. I thought that it wouldn’t be worth marrying him, and once entered in the selection, America’s rank is bumped even higher up. I just, I don’t like them together. I don’t even think I am bias towards a Prince, which I admit I usually am, I like Prince Maxton’s personality so much better. He is just a big attractive sweetheart.

I also want to highlight my love for the main characters name. America. Okay, so maybe it’s weird especially thinking of meeting someone tomorrow with that name, but , The description and reasoning was so beautiful. I believe (not direct quote) that her mother named her America because as a country, America was strong and kept on fighting and that’s what she wanted for her daughter. Try and convince me there is a better name for this character because no, you’re wrong.

I am realizing I have so much to say about this book, it’s amazing. I haven’t really connected with a book in this way in a while. I want to analyze every bit of it, but then again I also want to start reading the next in the series! One thing I loved was that this was a modern book, as it was recently written, but it could become a classic there was so much to analyze and think about. And lastly, I want to bring attention to the author, Kierra Cass, at the end of the book, she thanked the reader for reading it and for possibly staying up late to finish it, which I did!

Overall, if you havent read this book yet I’d say you should hop on this bandwagon ASAP



xox Cat
Leave a Reply

