Academy Friday: Shadow Kiss Vampire Academy 3

Goodreads

Title: Shadow Kiss
Author: Richelle Mead
Date Finished: Feb 10
 Purchased: Amazon Kindle Fire
★★★★★
It’s springtime at St. Vladimir’s Academy, and Rose Hathaway is this close to graduation. Since making her first Strigoi kills, Rose hasn’t been feeling quite right. She’s having dark thoughts, behaving erratically, and worst of all… might be seeing ghosts.

As Rose questions her sanity, new complications arise. Lissa has begun experimenting with her magic once more, their enemy Victor Dashkov might be set free, and Rose’s forbidden relationship with Dimitri is starting to heat up again. But when a deadly threat no one saw coming changes their entire world, Rose must put her own life on the line – and choose between the two people she loves most

So this is how I feel. I hated that I loved this book. I am so torn up about what happened. Let me start off wit the fact that I had so many doubts about this series. I was reluctant to even start them because they are about vampires, and well, that is a topic that I find to be overdone. Now look, three days, three books out of the series down, can you say addicted??
So my love hate relationship with this book in particular stems from the ending, which I don’t want to give away for any readers who want to start this book. I will say though, that I saw the ending coming, not in a bad way. But I prayed the entire book, ‘please don’t do it’ to Richelle hoping that she would twist the plot a different way. She didn’t answer my desperate pleas. There is a part of me which is glad because the story is evolving and I hate to say I like the direction it is going in, if you have read this book, you’ll understand.
Woah. Have I mentioned that I love Rose. Like to death. Can I be her? I have never been so involved with a character, she is perfectly developed and created. When I am reading this series it is as if I am her.. I can feel her emotions. I loved the spin of the dynamic between Rose and Lissa in this book as well.
I just feel the need to mention the ending one more time. I am not sure if there has ever been a more predicted, devastating ending that I have ever read. Nothing compares. I saw what was coming, and I am still probably more hurt than the characters are portrayed to be. It’s quite sad.
As you can probably tell, I recommend this book/series whole heartedly. I am so excited to get my hands on the fourth book, and all those that follow. I’m in pain because I have two large essay also due this week so I am torn between my boring essays and this series. I am hoping to start the fourth one sometime soon!!
xox Cat
One thought on “Academy Friday: Shadow Kiss Vampire Academy 3

  1. Pingback: Review: The Rules | The Bookly Scoop

Leave a Reply

