Review: Witch Finder

Title: Witch Finder
Author: Ruth Warburton
Finished: January 22
Purchased: NetGalley
London. 1880. In the slums of Spitalfields apprentice blacksmith Luke is facing initiation into the Malleus Maleficorum, the fearsome brotherhood dedicated to hunting and killing witches.
Luke’s final test is to pick a name at random from the Book of Witches, a name he must track down and kill within a month, or face death himself. Luke knows that tonight will change his life forever. But when he picks out sixteen-year-old Rosa Greenwood, Luke has no idea that his task will be harder than he could ever imagine.

I really, really just enjoyed this book. There is really no other way to explain it. I have always been a sucker for novels that involve witches because honestly, there are always good and bad witches and who wouldn’t kill for some magical powers am I right? Anyway, not only am I a sucker for witches, but I also love me some historical references. I loved that this book took place in a different time period than now allowing for things like women’s rights to be touched upon. So just to summarize this book includes paranormal elements, witches, romance, action, and history. How could I not like it?
I felt that, to add to the historical relevance, the society that killed witches was a great addition. Well maybe not addition since it basically fueled the story, but anyway.. I thought it was possibly references the Salem Witch Trials. However, I am not aware if possible “witches” all throughout time were tried and killed as well, so it could be in fact, references another time in history. 
I thought that the characters and plot were really well developed. As a reader, I felt for Rosa and Luke and wanted nothing more than for them to succeed in matters of the heart, not violence. One complaint that I do have is the lack of mystery and unknowing. I love a book that can spin a story that you think you know and BAM something out of left field happens rendering all your previous theories and ideas out the window. The downside of Witch Finder is that I knew what was going to happen right after reading the summary and well, the author did not prove me wrong. 
I liked the calmness of this book. Not to say that it was not eventful, because it was and many things took place over the course of the book. But it was a spelling slinging read, it focused more on the history and characters. While magic was obviously a huge part of the book, it took a back seat in the necessary areas.  
So basically I really liked this book, but I wish more events happened that I just didn’t expect. I would definitely read another book in the series, which I believe Witch Finder is the first book of three, but don’t quote me.  I am intrigued enough to desperately want to know the ending, no matter if I wasn’t truly shocked with the story. 
xox Cat
Leave a Reply

