Review!: The Elite

Title: The Elite (The Selection)
Author: Kiera Cass
Purchased: Amazon Kindle Fire
Date Read: February 27
★★★★

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.


Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.


This book gave me so much anxiety. On a scale of 1-10 my anxiety was at least 500. I could not stand the thought of  American ruining her chances with the prince for Aspen or for some stupid reason. I found myself so freaking jealous that he was still paying attention to the other girls and I am not even America, I feel so bad for her. 
I really enjoyed this book, though maybe not as much as the first one. I really liked the way the plot developed and, no matter what my anxiety level, I did like the spats Maxon and America had. It showed to me that they had real feelings for each other, people who are always nice and always agree make for a boring relationship, and even more boring to read about. I hate the love triangle in this book so I basically just made myself believe that… Maxon was the only one with a chance, maybe thats why I had anxiety haha. 
I don’t have much more to add about this book, I loved it, but I wished the plot moved a bit quicker, I found I was getting a little bored and I wanted to know more faster than it was coming at me. As well as in the first review, I want to mention that I don’t find this to be such a dystopian novel, I find that it is turning and evolving into a fairy tale!
xox Cat

Leave a Reply

