Hump Day Review: Fallen

Title: Fallen
Author: Lauren Kate
Purchased: Barnes&Noble
Date Read: March 23

★★★★

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.
Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.
Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, FALLEN is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.


So, besides the following things that I seemed to dislike and get annoyed with in Fallen, I really enjoyed the novel, I actually have the second book waiting on my shelf for my next spare moment. I found the story to be centrifuging, unique and refreshing. Besides the cover, there is no indication of anything paranormal until maybe the last 100 pages. Not that there is no way of guessing, because, as reading it I expected for an elf or fairy or something to pop up out of the corner. I can hardly say I was disappointed because what did happen puts those books to shame.

As mentioned, I felt that the story didn’t really start until the last 100 pages. This was probably the point of most frustration for myself. Sure, the first 300 pages weren’t awful and there was some necessary information within them, but this book could have easily been 200 pages. In the beginning, I found myself bored and it was honestly really hard to finish it.

Now with that said, when the book picked up, it really picked up. Lauren Kate has a gift of telling a story in so few words, it is almost an insult to herself to bog down such a good concept with the unnecessary bulk at the start. The reader was kept in the dark about the main plot line until the story picked up at the end and while I typically hate this, and desire some hint of information throughout, I didn’t mind the lack in this case. This may be due to that fact that the book didn’t really begin until the end so it made sense that was when the true plot was revealed. In this case, the beginning acted as Luce’s perspective, in the dark and confused about everything, while the end was more Daniel, where the plot becomes known and we are no longer wondering.

Overall, I did like the book enough to purchase the next and I am  curious as the ending. my only hope is that the plot develops slightly faster!


xox Cat



Leave a Reply

