Review: The Academy Friends vs. Family

Title: The Academy Friends vs. Family
Author: C.L. Stone
Purchased: Amazon Kindle Fire
Date Read: February 20
★!!!!


Sang Sorenson is forced to suffer through another of her mother’s extreme punishments. It almost kills her. The Academy boys vow it will be the last. They’re determined to keep Sang safe, especially from her own family. 
Their solution: complete invasion of her life.
Kota, Luke, Silas, Nathan, Victor, Gabriel and North do everything within their power to show Sang what true loyalty means. It takes more than blood to make a family and they want Sang in theirs.
In this third book of The Academy series Sang experiences a taste of freedom and what it’s like to truly be cared for…to be wanted. Sang learns a bit more about the boys’ broken families and the boys discover more than they could ever have bargained for about Sang’s. The Academy was the answer to their problems. Could it be hers?
Sang’s actions will force her mother to reveal a startling truth. A truth that will change Sang’s life and the boys’ lives in unpredictable ways. Forever.
The Academy, Allegiance


I can’t even. I just completed this book in 3 hours. I have not moved in order to finish this book and I am still left on the same edge of the cliff the first book deposited me on. I feel like the more secrets I learn as a reader, the more things I realize that I don’t know. I am not sure if Stone laced the words with a drug, but I am addicted.

With all the boys surrounding Sang, I can’t tell if I am uncomfortable or overwhelmed or in love. I guess my feelings mimic hers in a way. For one thing, I enjoy that all the boys like her, but I can sometimes pinpoint those who don’t have as high of a chance that some of the others have. While I do like that they all have feelings for her, I really craved in this book for Stone to make some uninterested. It did not happen, they are all head over heels for her, but I am getting to be slightly exhausted with seven men dotting on her, and all giving affection. I know if I was her I would be sick of it.

My main four contenders are Victor, Silas, North and Kota, though I have been team Silas since book one and I can also see why she would end up with someone else. Kota’s feelings for her really started to develop in this book, when in the other books I felt he acted more as a brother. 

The only aspect that I do not enjoy is being kept in the dark, I am beyond frustrated because I do not know many things and I cannot guess or assume any of them. This is kind of a hypocritical thing for me to mention since usually I complain that it is too predictable. I am not asking for everything revealed, but really, throw a dog a bone once in a while.

Once again, the big plot twist of the book happens at the end. I do not want to give it away, but, I did not see it coming. It really changes everything and you guessed it, m0re excited to read the next book. I just have  to know what happens it’s actually painful to do anything but read this series. 

xox Cat





Leave a Reply

