Review: Torment (Fallen Series Two)

             
Title: Torment (Fallen Two)
Author: Lauren Kate
Purchased: Used Book Store Paperback
Date Read: April 6


That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.

It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts – immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.
At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something – something dangerous.
What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?
The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series…where love never dies.

 So while I have given both Fallen and Torment the same rating, I loved reading torment significantly more than Fallen. Torment was a more action packed book, one that kept me on my toes the entire time but unlike Fallen, I was not annoyed by the lack of information. Torment provided just enough information that I was not angry at being left out of the loop, but it made me more compassionate to Luce because I knew what she knew. How frustrating to barely know anything about your life?! And here I am complaining that I don’t know enough about Luce’s life when I probably know more than she does.
Luce was forced away, tucked into a small private school where many of the students had angel blood. It was interesting to see others who were varying degrees of angels, besides the brooding ones from her last private school. I have a love hate relationship with the development of Luce and Daniels relationship as well as Luce and Miles. Like, I get it. The author needs to prove to the reader that Luce lives Daniel now, not just in past lives. And Miles is just adorable. Like little brother, pinch his cheeks, date one of her friends adorable. They do not seem compatible to me in a romantic relationship. They are both too, soft and well nice. I would see their relationship as friendship, not romantic, which I think Luce will end up realizing.
Luce and Daniel though. How do I even put into words their relationship? It is so strained in this book that I physically felt strained and sad for them. He, out of necessity, stays away from her as much as he can. While this kept her safe it really tested their relationship. At the moment, one specific moment (that I do not want to spoil but if you have read Torment you know what I am talking about) I wanted to crawl under a rock, cry, laugh and hug Daniel and Luce all at the same time because I felt as confused as they were.

Overall, I loved this book and I am even more in love with the series and ready to read the next two. I can’t wait to see how this unique tale ends. 
Leave a Reply

