Review: The One (The Selection Series)

The One (The Selection Series)15844362

Kiera Cass

Kindle Edition

★★★★★!!!!!

Summary: 

The Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen–and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!

Review:

What is it about her writing? The Selection series, and The One in particular, evoke so many of my emotions at one time. I think I can agree with previous reviews on this series that I wrote in the past, I was a ball of anxiety throughout the entire novel. I hate those feelings, but I actually love it.

Waiting for The One to be released was a painful game, but I was so excited when it was released and immediately put it on my to read list. Finally, I had gotten to it and read this book in one sitting. AKA I did not sleep last night because I was so engrossed with Kiera Cass’s novel.

First of all, I want to address the cover. Is that even a real dress? Because I want to be married in it. I don’t think I have ever loved  a cover as much as the book except for this one. It truly captures the entire novel in one picture. I am just guessing here, but this cover might sell the entire series to a reader browsing the shelves of Barnes and Noble.

Reading through all the reviews on goodreads, I love how everyone agrees that there really aren’t words to describe your feeling after reading this book, just gifs. While I am not going to include any in my review, I agree with all of them. You feel out of breath, anxious, happy, sad, annoyed and pretty much every other emotion out there.

I need to take a short time to talk about the overall theme of this book and series. It is literally, fairy tale meets the bachelor meets dystopian. Seriously? Could that get any better? Cass wraps up basically everything girls love and shoved it into one novel.

Leading away from my raw emotions and going to a more critical view, I still love The One. It was not only beautifully written but also well thought out. America has always been a favorite character of mine, and she blossomed in this novel. Before, we only got a hint of her true character, but now we can really see the beautiful girl she is.

Truthfully, I have always been team Maxon, but come on he is probably the most annoying character I have ever liked. I understand the effect of writing him this way, but he exasperated me. He was always so difficult and willing but unable to love America in the way she wanted. Basically, a common problem in the real world too. I just wanted to shake him and tell him he was being an idiot, also common.

How can I even begin to explain this book? Simply, read it. You will not be disappointed and now that all three books are released. There is no wait, just read.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Review: The One (The Selection Series)

Leave a Reply

