Late Night Review: Monkey Talk

Monkey Talk monkey talk cover final

T. Lucas Earle

PDF Provided by Author

Summary:

Monkey Talk is loosely based on the Chinese myth, the Monkey King, a timeless story about who belongs, and who doesn’t. In a future in which Chimps can give lectures on cybernetics, Mr. Towry is a Chimp with an attitude. Unfortunately, the rules are still “No shirt, no shoes, no service.”

Review:

I know I shouldn’t have been caught off guard by the fact that the main character was a personified monkey, but I was. The title could have led to so many different scenarios, and I find that reading the summary ruins plots for me. So going in blind, the monkey main character was a shock, but a pleasant surprise at that.

The take on the United States, and specifically the Boston area, that T. Lucas Earle takes is entirely entertaining and comical. Not so say it is not true. I think the truth in it is the quality that I liked most. The Boston area is described as an area of judging people. I can hardly disagree with this. People in this area care more about what a speaker looks like and how they carry themselves than the content of what they are saying.

It is hard for my to grab the actual concept of Monkey Talk because there are so many meanings I can assume. The entire story may be Mr. Towry realizing his animal nature, given away by the last thing we read, the fact that the cell is not what smells, but himself.  But maybe it was meant to expose the similarities we have with monkeys, besides evolution, and show the audience that we are not above other animals.

Monkey Talk is an interesting short story that is thought provoking for any audience. I actually think that maybe this story wasn’t intended for scholastic purposes, but a class could benefit greatly from reading this story. It reminded be of ones I had read in high school and even in some college classes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

